Drummer Ko Omura leads the listener on his voyage of introspection on his debut album Introspect, portraying the colors and maps of his musical mind.

This 2011 recording features eight tracks: six original songs from Omura in his detailed, catchy style, unfolding story-like with depth and groovy accuracy. The music brims with fiery energy, passionate yet also containing also a smoldering, somber melancholy. Two of the tracks are group-created free jazz collaborations, splashes of color adding mystery and adventure. The recorded audio is also done beautifully, with separation of drums and cymbals gracefully captured with a lush live sound.

A creative aspect used on this recording is the collaboration of three pianists Hakuei Kim, Koichi Sato, and Mamoru Ishida, playing separately as well as together on some songs, stretching the limits of the standard piano trio format. On several songs two or three of the pianists play simultaneously on acoustic and electric piano in distinct audio channels: center, right, or left separate and identify the pianists on three songs. On other songs, the standard piano trio format is used with pianists alternating on a song or two each, while the rhythm of bassist Koji Yasuda and drummer Ko Omura laying out the pulse and foundation of the music.

Introspect by Ko Omura

Released in 2011 on Daiki Musica as DMCD-12.

Japanese Names: Hakuei Kim ハクエイ・キム Koichi Sato 佐藤浩一 Mamoru Ishida 石田衛 Koji Yasuda 安田幸司 Ko Omura 大村亘

Audio and Video

Excerpt from track five on this album, "Slow Highway":

Copyright © 2018 jazzofjapan.com
Jul 17, 2018