A jazz pianist who balances lyricism with boldness, Sachiko Ikuta leads a piano trio on Haru No Kaze (Spring Wind) from 2012. Legendary jazz trumpeter Terumasa Hino also joins on two songs, adding an adventurous splash of avant-garde improvisation to the album.

Starting with the title track “Haru No Kaze”, the sense of an overture is felt through the light Japanese touches of a sweet melody which turns into the whirling winds of a solid jazz piano trio locking into a tune together. The next track, “Last Tango In Paris”, introduces a mood of evocative drama and intrigue with a relaxed beat.

The album’s nine songs feature classic jazz standards, songs by Bills Evans and Thelonious Monk, two original compositions, and a charming reconstruction of “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star” which swings gracefully. Ikuta even puts her well-rounded solo piano on display with a confident rendition of “Everything Happens To Me”, showcasing her dedication to the tradition of great jazz pianists.

Haru No Kaze by Sachiko Ikuta Trio

Released in 2012 on Studio TLive Records as XQHG-1007.

Japanese Names: Sachiko Ikuta 生田さち子 Hideaki Kanazawa 金澤英明 Shun Ishiwaka 石若俊 Terumasa Hino 日野皓正

Audio and Video

Copyright © 2018 jazzofjapan.com
Mar 4, 2018 (Updated Jan 27, 2022)